WPD to Participate in National 'Click It or Ticket' Campaign
Do you drive at night? What if you were given one piece of advice that would protect you twice as much as the average Oregonian. Interested? … BUCKLE UP! That’s it.
Roadside observations of belt use among Oregon travelers in 2016 revealed 96 percent of travelers use safety belts. But despite this high use rate among the general population, Oregon crash data for 2015 shows lack of belt use in 27 percent of daytime and 50% of night time crashes.
Safety belts, used correctly, can reduce the risk of major crash injury or death by up to 65 percent. Belts are even more effective when used in combination with airbag systems and other not-so-obvious occupant protection features designed into today’s vehicles.
The Woodburn Police Department will be joining other Oregon Law Enforcement Agencies participating in the Oregon Safety Belt Overtime Blitz that coincides with the National
“Click It or Ticket” campaign. This “blitz” occurring day and night, runs from Monday, May 15 through Sunday, May 28.
Oregon law requires all occupants to use safety restraints or a child safety system appropriate for their size. Woodburn police officers will be working overtime to focus on proper safety belt use including child seat use.
Child seats may increase crash survival by 71 percent for infants under one year old and by up to 59 percent for toddlers aged one to four. Booster seats may reduce the chance of nonfatal injury among four to eight year olds by 45 percent compared to safety belts used alone.
With onset of warmer weather, officers will also be checking compliance with laws prohibiting transportation of a minor in an open pickup truck bed.
Children under one year or weighing less than 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing child seat. A child over 40 pounds must use either a child seat or booster until they reach age eight or 4’ 9” tall and the adult belt fits them correctly. If you are unsure whether your child is ready to transition to an adult belt system, use the easy five-step test here: http://www.carseat.org/Boosters/630.htm
This enhanced enforcement is made possible through grant funding of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and administered by Oregon Department of Transportation.
For help installing child car seats, consult the seat manufacturer’s instructions, your vehicle owner’s manual, or visit a local child seat fitting station listed at: http://www.nhtsa.gov/apps/cps/index.htm or at http://oregonimpact.org/car-seat-resources/